This is a prestigious department functioning under S.N. Arts, D.J. Malpani Commerce & B.N. Sarda Science College, Sangamner, popularly known as Sangamner College, Sangamner.

Department was established in 1965 by considering the needs of rural and tribal student of the region. The department has well furnished & well equipped laboratories with state of the art facilities. It also has research laboratories with various research projects funded by UGC, BCUD, ISRO.

Department offers B.Sc Physics degree as per University of Pune and has a consistently up growing result. The department is proud to have a maximum strength for T.Y Physics from Ahmednagar district. The M.Sc (Physics) course has started from July 2013 and has received an overwhelming response from the students.

Many eminent professors like Prof. P.B Chaudhari, Prof. S.P. Borole, Prof. M.R. Marathe, Prof. S. D. Malwadkar and Prof. R. G. Pathare have headed the department. Presently Prof. R.V. Zaware is working as H.O.D.

ALL the faculties are actively involved with research in the field of Nano-materials and Renewable energy sources along with regular teaching & other curricular-extracurricular activities.

Many research projects funded by UGC, ISRO, UoP are successfully completed by the faculty members. There is a great number of National/ International patents, research papers and books by the faculties, which have honored the department. The department is proud recipient of many prizes, awards and recognitions including 1st prize under 5S scheme, gold and silver medals under student research scheme, recognition of research projects under Avishkar research project competition. Dr. S.N. Dalvi has been honoured with “Best teacher Award – 2013” by University of Pune along with many others for his contributions to the field of academic & cultural activities. At present Dr. Dalvi is working as Director of Student welfare at Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune.

Recently, the department has received a special grant under "Star College" scheme by Department of Biotechnology.